Day 355: Spread Your Wings

Leave a comment

December 20, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

I spend too many nights not dreaming about flying.  I, in fact, spend too many nights dreaming about things that are only slightly impossible, or even just mostly improbable.  What a waste of imagination.  Why not spend more of my waking life thinking about it?  Why let obligation and responsibility and societal norms and gravity keep me down, when I could be exploring the fascinating things that I still don’t understand about the world around me?  How many kids will grow up knowing these same imagination-blocking restraints?  Too many, I say, and today’s project gives me hope with a game meant to teach and inspire curiosity.  Today’s project is about flight, but it’s also about the thrill of stepping off the edge of convention and growing wings along your way.  Bill Nye and GameDesk have teamed up to make AERO 3D a (virtual) reality, and I hope you’ll join me in helping them before December 28.

photo-fullhttp://www.kickstarter.com/projects/181123828/aero-3d-bird-flight-game-with-bill-nye-and-gamedes

Bill Nye and GameDesk truly believe that to take education to soaring new heights we need to engage children in playful and imaginative experiences. What a better way to do that then to let them fly like a bird, soar over the land and sea and learn aerodynamics while they do it!

Leave a Reply

