Day 351: In Session

Leave a comment

December 16, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

Using the magical, wonderful, powerful internet to learn new things isn’t as easy as it looks. I know this because I’ve enrolled and then promptly ignored too many Coursera classes than I care to admit (actually, it’s been about 2-and-a-half, so far).  The information is out there – there’s tons of it – but that’s just the problem.  To sit down and focus on just one thing online requires an immense amount of discipline.  Frankly, I had a hard enough time not going on facebook while actually sitting in a classroom.  Just try to get me to keep my browser still for a moment when your boring video lecture can is just one CTRL-TAB away from my Google Reader feed (loaded with all sorts of mostly-useless-but-entertaining tidbits and headlines.  Hundreds per day!).  My point is not to discount the immense amount of resources at our fingertips, nor to shame myself for my lack of attentiveness and commitment in trying to learn new things – I’m saying that something’s gotta give: either my bad browsing habits or the unexciting learning tools that get drowned out so easily.  Actually, let’s shoot for both.  I’ll try to keep up my end of the bargain while today’s project does theirs in changing the way folk (perhaps me included), really learn something awesome, online.

The good people at PyroElectro have put together a school for the aspiring technologists and made it available to everyone.  That alone doesn’t make them particularly unique, but their content and format does.  Check out some of the resources they’ve made available already, and what they’re hoping to deliver with your help and mine through their Kickstarter campaign.  Back it before December 21.  See you in class.

photo-fullhttp://www.kickstarter.com/projects/pyroelectro/open-education-an-introduction-to-digital-electron

For the last 5 years, PyroElectro.com has been diligently working to deliver the best in electronics articles with a plethora of topics ranging from RF electronics to microcontrollers. Each article follows a similar format, explaining the topic in terms of theory, software and hardware and detailing the build process from start to finish

Leave a Reply

