Day 334: Heirloom@Home

Leave a comment

November 29, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

I don’t know where you are right now, but if it’s anywhere near me, I hope you’re wearing pants, because it’s cold outside.  I miss watermelon season… Actually, I miss just plain old anything-growing season.  Winter has its charm to be sure, but I’ve always wished I could sustain an indoor garden to last year-round – one that might bring life and color to an indoor existence, and also maybe feed me.  (I’ve got a bad track record of eating indoor plants to death…I’m sorry rosemary.  You did not die in vain.)  Today’s project seems like an innovative and elegant solution, at a price I actually can justify paying!

I hope to see more systems like this in the future, because I envision a future full of green gardens and fresh food on every table every day of the year.  Back Urban Farms before December 1.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/748439419/urban-farm-build-a-garden-sustain-it-for-life

The concept behind Urban Farm is to create fully customizable, sustainable gardens that will provide renewable food year-after-year and even continue thriving in economic crisis. Most “survival gardens” I’ve researched on the web are way overpriced, don’t give you much of a selection, and are far too generic. Guess what? I don’t like cauliflower, and I don’t want to grow it! You do? Great! But maybe you don’t care about melons – or maybe you’re a melon fiend! This project allows you to create your own garden with what you want in it, which I will then seal into a custom-made capsule to be stored for however long you want!

Leave a Reply

