Day 328: Legacy

Leave a comment

November 23, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

I’ve recently discovered that I’m a bit of a Trekkie.  I began and ended The Next Generation with admiration for a vision of a plentiful and harmonious human existence; one not without its challenges, but one with great ambition and great integrity.  It’s a beautiful vision, and even as I coped with the bittersweet feeling of watching the final episode of the series, I’m looking forward to turning to the next chapter in a legacy of Star Trek‘s lessons from the future.  I believe very strongly in the power of sci-fi – partially to entertain and partially to educate, but principally to inspire.  Today, I’m helping extend that legacy by backing the latest Star Trek story, the moral(s) of which I look forward to reflecting upon.  Join me in supporting Star Trek: Renegades – a renegade film in and of itself – before November 26.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/145553614/star-trek-renegades

It has been seven long years since Enterprise left the air, and though we’ve had the recent big screen adaptation of Gene Roddenberry’s futuristic vision (and the sequel coming next year), we feel the true home of Star Trek is as a continuing episodic series.  The goal of this project is to make that happen.

Leave a Reply

