Day 272: Father’s Day

Leave a comment

September 28, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

I’ve said before and I’ll say again how lucky I feel to have the father I do – one who’s always been there for me (and still is), who doesn’t just support and love me, but who respects me too; a father I’m proud to have, and who I look forward to making proud.  I don’t know if I’ll ever be a father.  I know, though, that if I do someday take on that role – if I do someday have a child of my own under my wing, to teach and protect, support and love – I’ll have big shoes to fill.  Being a father seems to me to be an endless and gigantic job – an unbelievable responsibility – but likewise an endless and gigantic opportunity.  Today’s project is from a father who knows this well.

World’s Best Father began when Dave Engledow started snapping pictures of his new daughter to share with friends and family on facebook and to chronicle the new life he was bringing into the world.  Fatherhood flooded his nervous system and eventually took over his career as a photographer as his ironic, hilarious and sometimes-shocking series World’s Best Father grew ever more popular (particularly amongst fellow fathers).  Now, Dave and his adorable daughter, Alice Bee, are coming out with a calendar to make everyday in 2013 a day for dads.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1447807309/worlds-best-father-2013-calendar

When my daughter Alice Bee was born in 2010, I knew that I wanted to document her life creatively and put together a collection of photos that she would treasure as an adult; however, I truly had no idea that this ongoing photo project would develop quite the way it has. When I first started posting photos of Alice Bee to Facebook, my intent was primarily to entertain my family and friends, and I have been pleasantly surprised by the overwhelmingly positive response that these photos have generated in many countries around the globe.

Kids don’t come with an instruction manual.  I’ll try never to fool myself into thinking that I’d be fully-prepared to raise a child.  I’d like, though, to think that I’d be able to learn from those before me, and from myself, through the mistakes and triumphs of fatherhood.  Help remember those lessons and breed a better generation of dads by backing this project before October 5.

Leave a Reply

