Day 220: The Player

Leave a comment

August 7, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

With my first day at a new job behind me, I’m beginning to understand why people spend their evenings in front of televisions.  It was a long day, a great day, but a long day – lots of activity, lots of new things to learn and quickly put into practice.  I hit the ground running, but I’m not sure I’d have it any other way.  When I came home from work, though, it was time to unwind.  Relaxing, I sometimes have to remind myself, can be a very good and useful thing – productive, even.

Video games are something that I thought I had given up on for the most part.  I still play the occasional few minutes of puzzle games on my iPhone, but for the most part, my XBox stays quiet.  Despite my lack of taking part, gaming has come a tremendously long way and impresses me more and more all the time.  Maybe it’s time to take another look towards digitally-rendered play as a form of entertainment.  Today’s project is worth taking a look at.

The OUYA is the first open-source game console.  How does a console go open-source, you ask?  It starts with developers (developers, developers, developers!) getting access to the designs so they can hack, mix, tweak and toy with new ideas in gaming.


http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/ouya/ouya-a-new-kind-of-video-game-console

OUYA is a new game console for the TV, powered by Android.

We’ve packed this little box full of power. Developers will have access to OUYA’s open design so they can produce their games for the living room, taking advantage of everything the TV has to offer.

Best of all, OUYA’s world-class controller, console, and interface come in one beautiful, inexpensive package. All the games on it will be free, at least to try.

The possibilities here are astounding.  This really is the first console of its kind, and one that I’m very seriously considering investing in – if only to say that I took part in this innovative step in the open-source future.  If that’s a future you’re looking forward to, and a step you’d be proud to have taken with more than 50,000 others playing with you, back this project before August 9.

Leave a Reply

