Day 197: Whip It

Leave a comment

July 15, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

I’ll admit it, I’m cheating today.  I’m writing this post ahead of time, since by the time Day 197 rolls around, I don’t anticipate being around a computer.  I’ll likely post this either late in the day, after I return from my excursion into nature, or quickly from my iPhone while still out amidst the trees (if that’s possible).  Either way, I won’t be spending much time in front of screens today, and I invite you to join me.  Let’s go on a little culture diet together.

But first, a project about what we’ll be missing!

DEVO is a band you might think disappeared when wearing tinfoil jumpsuits went out of style, but you’d be wrong.  (Tinfoil is forever trendy.)  Pioneers of electronic music and pirates of Western culture, DEVO were impersonators, minstrels and mimes of Americana and a world worth mocking.  Now, Are We Not Men is capturing the whole story behind the music that mocked the world.


http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1409838010/authorized-devo-documentary-film

From their origins during the 1970 Kent State shootings, to their latest album and tours, this documentary offers a funny and fascinating story that appeals to generations of art and music aficionados. Featuring new interviews with contemporaries (Iggy Pop), and followers (Dave GrohlTony Hawk), the official documentary reveals the truth about this important and misunderstood band with rare archival film, private home-movies, and recent concert footage.

Honestly, before this project came along on Kickstarter, I knew little about DEVO aside from their love of whipping it.  Now, though, that I’ve had a taste of their main course, I’m hungry for more.  Theirs is a unique flavor, but one worth sampling, and I hope you’ll help them be remembered for more than silly hats and keytars by backing the documentary in their honor before August 7.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 685 other followers

