Day 194: It Came From Outer Space

Leave a comment

July 12, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of science-fiction.  I’ll admit, however, that I’m a bit of a snob about my sci-fi.  Having a solid background in science, it’s difficult to overlook mistakes and fallacies that to me are obvious.  Whenever that happens, though, I try to remind myself that sci-fi isn’t all about the science.  Don’t get me wrong, the gizmos dreamt up on Star Trek undoubtedly inspired some of the modern devices we’re enjoying today, but it’s not the devices themselves that mattered most – it’s the dreaming.  It’s the idea that we can become better, smarter, stronger, happier, nicer…and so on.  The fi that complements the sci is the seed of aspiration – the notion that the future is awesome (and sometimes scary) and that it’s within our reach if we keep stretching.  Today’s project hearkens back to that optimism, and hopes to make the world want to keep stretching everyday.

Space Command is a series of films from some of the most talented, experienced and visionary sci-fi writers and artists alive today.  Inspired by the classic optimism of the (sometimes hokey) golden age of sci-fi, and enlivened by new powers to render their vision for a more amazing tomorrow, the creators are bringing good sci-fi back to life without subjecting it to the mercy of Hollywood.


http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/58936338/space-command

I often hear fans say, “Why are there so few good sci-fi shows on TV, and why do so many go south?”  I can tell you – frankly, most of the network suits just don’t get it.

But you and I do.

So when I recently got the idea of creating a new show inspired by the sense of wonder and possibility science fiction gave me as a kid, I realized I didn’t need a network or studio to make my dream come true — just Kickstarter and you.

I get it.  At least, I’m pretty sure I do.  But that’s what’s great, I suppose: that sci-fi could mean something completely different for you than it does for me; that we’re able to interpret and extract meaning from even the most subtle cues from the world of a make-believe tomorrow.  Without thinking about that world, how can we ever expect to achieve it?  If you’re not content to leave the future in the hands of somebody else – if you’ve waited too long for flying cars, jetpacks and iPhones, then I hope you’ll join the army of sci-fi visionaries and futurists by backing Space Command before July 18.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 685 other followers

