Day 187: Remember Me

2

July 5, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

It’s amazing what kids remember…and in my case, what they don’t.  My dad reminds me of this.  My father – being a good father – took me all over the place to do and see all sorts of things, throughout my childhood.  Museums, amusement parks, new cities and sights, landmarks and landscapes and skyscrapers…most of which I can’t honestly say I remember all that well.  Was it a waste?  Probably not.  At the time, I’ll bet I was having all kinds of fun, which is important for a kid – living in the moment and enjoying every moment that passes.  I honestly wish, though, that I had a better memory of all the time and effort and love he put into showing me a world I was still too young to appreciate fully, or for very long.  I may not remember all the good times, but I take solace in knowing that they were there and that my dad cared that much about making sure I didn’t have a boring childhood.  My lost memories, though, compel me now to take careful observation and not let anything else slip by, so in a way, it’s been a good lesson.  Dad, if you read this someday, thank you for giving your son everything that could make a kid’s life great – it means more to me now than I think it ever could have when I was younger.  (I’ll be sure, though, to take more pictures if or when I’m showing my future kid[s] around the world someday).

Today’s project is about remembering.  If that wasn’t obvious by now, I suppose it’s my fault for rambling, but that’s sort of how memories work, anyway – at least for me: connections and tangents that fit together like puzzle pieces to create a moving mosaic that resembles moments from the past.  I digress.  Again.  Remember how I said today’s project was about remembering?  Well, that’s true, but it’s also about fear of forgetting, loneliness and longing, good times and bad, and ultimately coming to terms, accepting the past and making the best of the present.

Invention is a short film about a child who’s afraid to forget.  With a homemade memory machine, a young girl feeds her dreams into the device to preserve them forever, and winds up finding that some memories are harder to relive than others.  Ultimately, though, I think this is a story about how the good can and should be taken with the bad, and both be given their rightful place in a past worth remembering.


http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/977574538/invention-1

Our goal in filmmaking is to tell a story that connects with audiences. As we’ve shared the story of INVENTION with friends and strangers, we’ve been blown away at how they often weave their own stories of loss with that of the young kid. Our hope is that the film can offer people a creative chance for conversation and connecting with others through times of loss.

We’re asking you to help bring this story to life.

If you could keep one memory forever, or maybe a moment you’d like to relive from time to time, what would it be?  Where were you, what were you doing and who were you with?  What made it special?  Seriously, I’d like to know.  Drop me a comment below if you feel like opening up.

Here, I’ll start: I’ve got a thousand little snippets of good times in the past, and I hate to choose just one (feeling like I’m doing a disservice to the others), but the first one to come to mind would be the short road-trips I’d take with my dad as he’d drive us up to my grandmother’s house in Forester, Michigan, on Lake Huron.  He’d take the opportunity to expose me to good music (I recall our road-trip soundtrack usually consisting of Led Zeppelin, The Who, Metallica, and Peter Gabriel) and talk about his childhood – all the chores and hard labor he did at Forester under the direction of his father; all the rituals of dusting and tidying of his mother, and her complaints about his loud rock music on the old stereo; all the trips he’d take, biking or hiking through the forest and up and down the creek that fed into the lake – everything sounded like an adventure to me, and it made me feel very close to my dad.

Anyway, before we forget, back this film on Kickstarter before July 12.

Now, your turn.

2 thoughts on “Day 187: Remember Me

  1. Megan says:

    Excellent post, Alex! So sweet and so true, too. Looks like a really interesting project.

  2. =) Thanks Megan. I’m really glad you like it and I hope what I’ve said will ripple out to have a little more impact on the project.

    Now out with it, you! What’s your favorite memory?

Leave a Reply

