Day 184: Rewriting the Book

Leave a comment

July 2, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

Pulling it off yet again at the very last second.  Be proud.  Unfortunately, I’m not left with much time to chronicle the depths of today’s project.  Suffice it to say, however, that it is deep – far deeper than I could address in the 20 minutes remaining in the day.  Pay attention, though, because today’s project is rewriting the book.

Clear and Present Thinking is not a typical textbook.  At no charge, students will be free to access material otherwise trapped behind paywalls and bloated tuition fees.  The contents, of course, are original and interesting, but what I find more important is the precedent it sets.  It’s disruptive, and I dig that.  So if you feel like joining me in helping Brendan Myers rock the book boat, check out this project before July 7.


http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1547922245/clear-and-present-thinking-a-free-college-level-lo

So, I’ve been writing my own textbook, so that my students don’t have to buy one. I’d like to expand and improve it and then make it available to the whole world, for free.

Leave a Reply

