Day 172: Dirt Bikes on City Streets

Leave a comment

June 20, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

Today’s post will be quick.  I’ve got lots to do and I’m still reeling from my journey to California – thinking a lot about the people and the ideas and the inspiration I met there.  You might be seeing more from me on my other blog in coming days, since what’s on my mind has lots to do with the themes over there.

I always feel a little guilty for doing short write-ups here because I think every project is worth my complete attention and should be credited as such.  Suffice it to say that anything that makes the cut and gets featured on The Kick-Off is something I find truly special and worth paying attention to, supporting, and following up on.  I try to do my best at all three, but sometimes it’s not easy to find all the right words to explore the depth of a project’s importance, beauty, or plain old coolness.  Needless to say, today’s project has heaps of all three.

Food Cycle is using pedal power to move mountains.  The people of Troy Bike Rescue and Collard City Greens are teaming up, taking to the streets of Troy, New York, moving mountains through man-, woman-, and child-power (not to be confused with child labor, of course).


http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/collardcitygrowers/food-cycle-building-soil-with-pedal-power

Food Cycle… is a bicycle compost delivery project employing neighborhood youth, while diverting household and restaurant food and yard waste back into the ground on our urban farm all by way of the transportation of the future: The bicycle!

Pedaling for petals, the people of Troy know how to make their gardens grow.  This is a project that draws in two distinctly cool elements: bicycles as urban transportation and gardens as urban food providers, urban agricultural classrooms, and centers of urban community engagement.  Obviously, I’m a fan of all of the above, and endorse their coming together so elegantly in Troy.  Now, you and I have a chance to be a part of this magical union that Food Cycle is building, and I hope you’ll join me in doing so on Kickstarter sometime within the next 12 hours, because this project begins at 10 PM (EDT) tonight.

Leave a Reply

