Day 155: Adrift

Leave a comment

June 3, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

Oh the things we take for granted. It’s almost a shame that I wrote about electricity a few days ago, because today my power is out and I’ve been staring down the brutish and cruel world without lights, refrigerators or routers. Obviously, I’m not quite off the grid completely – today’s post is brought to you by the good people of Apple who’re responsible for the iPhone that keeps me connected to the universe whether I like it or not. The truth is, I actually kind of like power outages (within limits), and I think it’s sort of a shame to remain so connected despite it, but I’ve made a commitment to The Kick-Off and so here I am, thumbing away my daily chapter on a project I like. Todays’s project is something I could only really enjoy with the power back on, but that just gives me more to look forward to.

Drifter is a video game worth exploring. With a whole galaxy to discover and the ability to customize your experience by moving in any direction and being whoever and whatever you want, there’s a whole universe of possibilities.

20120603-150728.jpg
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/celsiusgs/drifter-a-space-trading-game

Drifter is an open-world sandbox space trading game that takes place in a galaxy with thousands of stars and endless possibilities. Live the simple life of a merchant, become a bounty hunter, take on work for hire, become a fearsome pirate, or simply explore the galaxy around you, the choice is yours.

I’m sort of a sucker for space games, especially ones with such grand design, and when the power comes back on, I’d probably make up for my time spent in the dark by leaving Earth behind. Come with me by pre-ordering Drifter before June 4 on Kickstarter.

Leave a Reply

