Day 130: To Work

Leave a comment

May 9, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

School’s out and it’s time for something new.  I’m not on what I’d consider a conventional job hunt, but come to think of it, I’m not really sure that there is such a thing as a “conventional” job hunt.  Jobs are personal, or at least they ought to be: different jobs for different people with different talents and different values.  Scoping out a job became a much more involved and important process once I began to understand what I hope to accomplish, what I hope to contribute to and to commit myself to.  Paying the bills is nice – maybe even a must – but it’s only one of a thousand forces that drive me to work.  It’s impossible not to admire people who love what they do, no matter what it is.  I aspire to that passion, that commitment and that excitement about work.  Today’s project is giving me (and to everyone else) a glimpse into dozens of working lives to aspire to.

Day Job is a biannual magazine showcasing working class heroes and what “work” really means to them.


http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/581102026/day-job-magazine

At Day Job we are interested in the personal details of everyday working life—the stories, environments, tools, exploits, perks, and pains of doing a job. It’s a publication that tries to investigate not just what we do, but why we do it. It’s about people and the variety of ways in which work brings all of us together.

Unemployment is bad, but underemployment might just be worse.  A job should be so much more than work, and I’ve seen too many people dissatisfied with their careers, feeling trapped or helpless.  A project like this sheds light on what it means when your job becomes more than just a job, and I think it’ll bring inspiration with it for those who, like me, strive to work with our whole selves, not just the 9-to-5, clock-in, clock-out mentality of time spent and paycheck earned – who strive to do what they love and love what they do.  Share in the stories and see through the eyes of the people at work all around you by backing Day Job before May 18.

Time to get to work.

Leave a Reply

