Day 125: Pomp and Circumstance

Leave a comment

May 4, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

Today is something of a milestone for me.  It was my last day as an undergraduate, perhaps my last day as a college student, ever.  I don’t know yet whether I’ll ever return to enroll in a university for graduate school of one sort or another, but for the foreseeable future (that is, from where I stand today), my life as a student is over.  That’s not entirely true.  I intend to be a student for as long as I live.  I intend to learn constantly.  I’ll be taking notes and drawing diagrams and trying to organize, annotate and interpret everything as I continue to explore the world outside of school.  It’s a big world.  Bigger than I can probably grasp just yet.  Check back with me in a few months and I’ll have more to say, I’m sure.  Until then, I’ve had a long day and it’s not over yet.  Much to do before donning my cap and gown, but none of that compares to what waits for me once I’ve got my diploma in hand.  I’m sure that I have much more to say on the subject of school and what it means and how it feels to leave it.  I have nearly a lifetime’s worth of experience as a student.  Tomorrow, a chapter closes and a new one begins.  Time to get a pen.

Today’s project has special relevance, and rather than try to explain why, I’ll let the project do the talking:


http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/drcations/teach-me-nothing-a-documentary 

Over the last three months and continuing through June the TEACH ME NOTHING team have been following and interviewing a widely different group of students. Many come from different backgrounds; different economic situations, different cultural groups and social strata.This film is an in depth take on the pros and cons of college, and an overall look at the modern american college experience. We the viewer, along with the students, are pushed to answer difficult questions, confronting the very real economic climate and the inevitable hardships they face. Ultimately a harsh, yet realistic conclusion is made regarding the state of the american college system.

 

Leave a Reply

