Day 107: What Would Grok Do?

2

April 16, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

Food is important to me.  More so, perhaps, than I think it is to a lot of other people.  Not necessarily in an emotional, spiritual or cultural respect – I have a hard time associating special foods with special occasions, other than breakfast, lunch and dinner (which should always be special).  My respect for food comes in large part from a physiological standpoint.  I don’t know if one can literally interpret the phrase “you are what you eat”,  but it’s certainly an adage that helped guide me towards an appreciation of what food is (and, more often, what food isn’t).  What we eat has more to do with how we feel than we often like to recognize (as my milk chocolate-loving, lactose-intolerant friends will tell you).  Over the past few years, as I’ve learned more and more about nutritional biochemistry, metabolism and the long and short histories of human food, I was more able to identify foods that made me feel…well, really great!  Like a human being ought to feel!  Obviously, a lot of the world around me doesn’t eat the way I do (though nor do they feel as consistently good, either), so as I abandoned the Standard American Diet (SAD – a name that nobody who eats it will acknowledge), I searched for a new label to apply to myself.  Vegetarians, Vegans, Pescetarians…they’ve all got nice, socially-acceptable labels that they can use to casually explain why they’re not engaging in the SAD victuals of a buffet line.  I lacked so refined a title and felt a little cast out because of it.  Until, that is, I discovered that I had unknowingly been amongst thousands of like-minded real food-eaters who had been drawing upon nutritional and biological science for decades to establish a way of life meant to let human beings live as human being should, and did for hundreds of thousands of years.  They even had a name for themselves!  And so, mostly in effort to more easily explain myself to curious (or flat-out baffled) observers, I can call myself “Paleo”.

Today, though, being paleo ain’t always easy.  The world around most of us is built on food that didn’t exist 100 years ago, let alone 10,000.  From a cultural standpoint, we’ve come a long way in that time, but biologically, well, adaptation is slow.  Our rapid cultural evolution has brought us an abundance of edible stuff that our bodies – our organs, tissues, cells and genes – didn’t evolve to regard as food.  But in the pace of things, we tend to lose sight of that in favor of the inventions we’ve developed to give us the most satisfying and most convenient food possible.  Fast food.  Cheap food.  It’s not all that food-like at all, really.  Today’s project, however, is setting out to redefine how real food – human food – can be delivered to post-cavemen and women like you and I, who haven’t got the time to hunt and gather.

Cultured Caveman is the west coast’s first 100% paleo restaurant on wheels.  A caveman kitchen, brought to the streets, where busy, modern human beings are hungry for the food that their ancestors would recognize.


http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/culturedcaveman/cultured-caveman-portlands-first-100-paleo-food-ca 

We want to allow food lovers, especially those with dietary restrictions, to enjoy meticulously prepared, healthful cuisine in a convenient and quick manner.

Real food for real people without all the hunting and gathering that occupied our time for so many millennia.  Now you can grab a plateful of plants and animals while you video chat with your friends in Singapore on your iPhone.  It’s a great way to remind us that underneath all our culture, our cleverness, and our convenience, we are still homo sapiens, hungry for human food.  It’s a step forward into the deep past, before we led ourselves metabolically astray.  It’s something I wish was in my town, and maybe one day, with your help and mine, we’ll see that happen.  Until then, help get these cavemen up on their wheels by backing them before April 19.

2 thoughts on “Day 107: What Would Grok Do?

  1. […] might have mentioned before how much I like real food.  It’s a big part of my life – probably yours too – and so I think […]

  2. […] know by now how much I love food…but how long has it been since The Kick-Off has turned its attention to […]

Leave a Reply

