Day 10: Groundmaking

Leave a comment

January 10, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

I hate waste.  Seriously.  If I can’t sell it (and I’ll generally try that first), I’ll try to re-use it somehow.  I’m lucky to know a lot of people involved in recycling, so I generally have a good place to go with my scrap in order to keep it out of a landfill.  Food, in particular, is something I can’t stand to throw out.  When nobody else in my house will eat the strawberries because one of them has a brown spot, I feel it’s my duty to consume them.  I’m happy to.

We tried composting for a while, but found that without some equipment and/or some regular maintenance, it became an attraction for unwanted critters.  I’d love to start it up again with the right tools and the right attitude so we can put our discards to good use.

Today’s project feeds that hope.  A group called Throw to Grow is setting up a pilot program to help develop a large-scale composting program that uses microbial fermentation to create nutrient-rich soil from discarded food (including some otherwise-exotic materials that might not usually jive with your compost heap, such as meat, dairy and bones).  The system they’re proposing is known as Bokashi Composing, which is pretty neat (see second video below).


www.kickstarter.com/projects/1185750395/throw-to-grow-a-new-trash-revolution

They’re looking for $15,000, and have only 8 more days to meet that goal, so they need a big push along this final stretch.  If you don’t enjoy the idea of feeding the abundance of landfills, or if you’ve ever had an interest in gardening, sustainability, DIY or simply being a cool and interesting person, I invite you to join me in supporting this project.

Leave a Reply

