Day 8: Mishmashing

2

January 8, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

I hate to think that I’m becoming predictable, but today I’ve come across yet another game project that turned my brain on.  The name is the game is LangGuini and it looks like a great way to see how creative (or vulgar) your friends are.

The premise of the game is relatively simple: use randomly-drawn cards containing syllables to form a new word.  Each player then submits a proposed definition for that word and the best definition is chosen by the dealer.  The winner gets to keep those cards (first to 15 wins), and everyone gets to keep that new word for use in everyday conversation.


http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/bigrye/langguini-a-card-game

I have a special place in my heart for card and board games.  There’s no better way I can think of to learn more about your friends and family than by playing with and against them in person.  Quelf has become a new favorite at home and I can attest to its ability to bring an otherwise-turbulent family together for a lot of fun.  LangGuini shows the same potential.

For a cool $18, you get the full 108-card deck, but for a little extra, they’ll include some extra cards for expanded syllabary.  Here’s to another fun project.  Tomorrow, I promise to try and break this game-a-thon and find a different discipline of wondrous fun and creativity to fund.  Until then, keep playing.

2 thoughts on “Day 8: Mishmashing

  1. […] off to a great start – having found and supported projects that have been beautiful, useful, fun, maybe even world-changing – often all at once.  I’d say The Kick-Off is on track and […]

  2. […] remarked before on how awesome I think board games are.  I was genuinely shocked at how my family – whose […]

Leave a Reply

