Day 4: Taking Back Science

Leave a comment

January 4, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

As I write this, I’m sitting in what might accurately be called the home of “homebrew bioscience.”  I’m in New York for the next few days, visiting a remarkable little spot called Genspace.  It was the first, and remains a leader amongst a small community of what’s been called “DIY Bio”, “Biohackers”, “Biopunks”, and all sorts of other sexy names.  Fundamentally, though, what they’re doing is taking science – specifically biological science – out of the formal, traditional, institutional arena.  They’re lowering the barrier to doing bio science and forging a new path outside of academia and industry, and bringing it to almost anyone with an interest in life, the universe and everything.  I dig it.

It’s that kind of mission that brought my attention to today’s featured project: Citizen Science Quarterly: Round 2

Too long has science been seen as something boring that only a few people in an ivy tower are able to contribute too. Citizen Science hopes to change that by helping people realize that anyone can and should be involved in making real contributions to science.

I have a lot to say about that notion, but the principle force behind this movement is a positive one, and one I think shows a tremendous amount of promise for a brighter future for all of us.  Citizen Science, I’m behind you.

As of this writing, the Kickstarter project has a mere 23 days to go and more than $4,000 more needed to reach their goal.  It’s a hefty sum and a closing window, but I’m going to do my part (and I hope you’ll help me) to spread the good word and share their noble goal with the world at large.

Leave a Reply

