Day 171: Globetrot

Leave a comment

June 19, 2012 by Alex Hoekstra

Home again.  A bit bittersweet, I suppose.  I didn’t stay in California for long enough to come down with a serious came of home-sickness, but I’m glad at least to have a moment now that I’m back to reflect on everywhere I went, everything I did, and everyone I met.  More than anything else, I think it’s the people that make travel an amazing experience.  Some sights are worth seeing, but the conversations and new ideas from strangers and new friends are worth a thousand snapshots of the Golden Gate.  I met some truly amazing people out west – friends I hope to keep, and keep learning from.  The world is full of interesting, brilliant, inspired people; sometimes you just have to book a flight to find them.

It’s remarkable how wanderlust works.  Like any itch, it seems to intensify when you scratch it.  Going to California, seeing the sunset on the Pacific, living out of a backpack and navigating through crowded, unknown streets – it all made me hungry for more.  Today’s project will be like the sweet pleasure-pain of nursing the travel bug’s bite.


http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/nemostravels/the-hitchhikers-guide-to-earth

I’ve hitched the US’s Eastern Seaboard, backpacked Europe, and done all of the above while Down Under. And all that way, everyone kept telling me, “I could never.”

Well, I’m here to tell you, YOU CAN! The Hitchhiker’s Guide to: Earth is the culmination of my personal experiences, journals, and interviews with fellow travelers and friends. It’s a comprehensive reference guide to budget travel, backpacking, hitchhiking, and all around vagabonding anywhere in the developed world. INCLUDING air-fare, learn how to live like a Travel King for only $8 /day.

Nemo knows what the itch feels like.  He knows it so well, in fact, he could basically write the book on how to scratch it.  As it turns out, he’s doing just that.  Having jet-setted and hitchhiked his way across the known world, the extraordinary journey he’s taking is one too few people are embarking on for themselves.  I’m as guilty as anyone in my reservations to make reservations – always finding an excuse not to go, see and do something beyond my immediate reach.  I’m learning, though, how to cancel those reservations, and I think Nemo’s travels will inspire me and a thousand others to follow in his footsteps around the world, having left our fear behind.

Find an excuse to go, to see and to do anything and everything you think is out of your reach.  Buy a ticket to a fuller life, and be sure to pack a copy of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to: Earth after backing it on Kickstarter before June 29.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 686 other followers

